ICC Awards 2016 Winners Full List


The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced 2016’s ICC award winners on Wednesday (21st December 2016). Indian right-arm off break bowler Ravichandran Ashwin won the Cricketer of the year award. The 30-year old player from Chennai is the third Indian to win Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy award after former Indian player Rahul Dravid. He was also chosen as the ‘Best Test Cricketer of the year’.

After hearing the award news, Ashwin said “It feels great to follow Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid in being ICC Cricketer of the Year”.

Ashwin played his first International Test match in 2011. By now, he has taken 248 wickets from his 44 test matches. He also has a batting average of 34.92. Jacques Kallis, Ricky Ponting, Kumar Sangakkara, Michael Clarke, Smith and Mitchel Johnson are the other players in the ICC history, who is awarded both ‘best cricketer of the year’ and ‘best test cricketer of the year’ in the same year.

ICC Awards 2016 winners

Here is the full list of ICC award winners for the year 2016.

 Awards  Winners
 ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy)  Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
 ICC Test Cricketer of the Year  Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
 ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year  Quinton de Kock (South Africa)
 ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year  Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
 ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year  Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
 ICC T20I Performance of the Year  Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies ) (34 runs score from 10 balls which also led to the victory of West Indies in ICC WT20 final match against England in Kolkata
 ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year  Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)
 ICC Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year  Mohammad Shahzad (Afghanistan)
 ICC Spirit of Cricket Award  Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan)
 ICC Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy)  Marais Erasmus
 ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year 2016:  Kane Williamson (NZ), David Warner (Aus), Alastair Cook (Eng) (captain), Joe Root (Eng), Ben Stokes (Eng), R. Ashwin (Ind), Rangana Herath (SL), Adam Vogues (Aus), Jonny Bairstow (Eng) (wicketkeeper), Mitchell Starc (Aus), Dale Steyn (SA), Steve Smith (Aus)
 ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2016: Mitchell Marsh (Aus), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Mitchell Starc (Aus), David Warner (Aus), Quinton de Kock (SA), Rohit Sharma (Ind), Sunil Narine (WI), Virat Kohli (Ind) (captain), AB de Villiers (SA), Jos Buttler (Eng), Kagiso Rabada (SA), Imran Tahir (SA)
 ICC Women’s Team of the Year 2016: Stafanie Taylor (West Indies) (captain), Meg Lanning (Australia), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand) (wicketkeeper), Heather Knight (England),  Sune Luus (South Africa), Anya Shrubsole (England), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Smriti Mandhana (India), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Kim Garth (Ireland)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here